Letter to President Obama–Part II

Standard

sc007036c1_2Dear President Obama,

The poor plants and animals are disappearing.
Could you tell people this?
I want them to be hearing.
Then maybe they will help, because I’m very sure
They don’t want anything to disappear.
If we can get them to help every day
And clean, clean, clean in every way,
It could be the solution.
You and I both know
That all this litter and pollution
Has just got to go!

–Katherine

When I grow up I want to be the president of the USA. Have you every had another job? If so, list here ______________________________________________________________________. What kind of car do you drive? What color is it? PS, could you answer back, please? PPS, could you make a law that there is no taxes? That would help. Thanks.

–Jeremi

This is what you should do as president.
One: Do not get a cat! Get a fluffy puppy, they’re cute.
Two: Try to not get your wife mad.
Three: Git in your chair and spin around.
Four: Git a Xbox 360 so you can play it.
Five: Git a big screen TV, hook the Xbox 360 to it.
PS, my name is Jaguer, just so you know.

–Jaguer

Here’s a list for you with 5 things.
• Come home
• Relax and think of speeches
• Play with your family
• Call air force for missions
• Give thank yous to people that help
–Gianluca

Here’s things you should do as president.
1. Travel to every countries.
2. Make sports every day jobs.
3. Make pizza 25 cents.
4. Help us clean the earth because when I travel the earth I don’t want it to be dirty.
5. Ask you doctor to make a medicine to make longer lifespan.
6. Throw crooks in jail.
7. Make Hollywood, FL pretty.
PS, if you have a guest room, can I move in?

–Bryce

1. arrest Mr. Bush
2. marry Brittney spears
3. distroy the bush industry
4. pee on elvis presley’s grave
5. make a rule for gambling, 2 years or older
6. put whip cream on your wife’s hand and tickle her nose
PS, did I mention that I think party pooper bush killed JFK.
PPS, I also think he had a part of 911.
PPSS, I’m turning 9 next month.

–Joshua

I see this world fading away,
Soon we can’t see the sky,
There would be no birds to fly by.
This world is becoming very sick,
Soon there won’t be blue,
But some people don’t have a clue
That every day
They pollute.
So,
Please help the earth,
And save the universe.
And please write me back.

–Joanna Rae

About deniselanier

I am an educator & advocate, poet & performer, speaker & storyteller who believes in the power of narrative to transform & transport, create & connect. I was the shy, awkward girl who didn’t fit in, was often bullied, happiest with my nose in books, whose best friend was my dog. After being cast in a play in my teens I discovered a way to be comfortable in my own skin, bringing to life the words of a character. Costumed in make-believe I dared to be more of myself than I ever allowed off-stage; I claimed my voice. I spent most of my adult life teaching others to raise their own voices, through acting, creative writing, even slam poetry. When the diagnosis of MS intervened in my 30s I had to let go of acting, which is why most of my storytelling is now expressed through page and less “formal” interactions with stages. I devote much of my time to kids, teaching them to use words & imagination, developing authentic, resilient, remarkable voices. I endeavor to grow in my students the belief, the truth, that we are all artists & the change-makers in our own stories. My best friend still has fur & four legs. My mobility assistance dog is my constant companion, teaching assistant & muse to many. Luke is also chief partner in crime; I’m getting a reputation for stealing things. As inventor of a poetic form called klepto-collaborative, I pickpocket words & phrases from others, reshuffling & reshaping the puzzle-pieces into a colorful, storied mosaic of diverse voices. Taking something from every speaker at a conference in real-time, I craft a collective poem that highlights the messages of the day, repurposing ideas & refashioning stories, weaving them together in a manner that never loses the originality & spirit of the speakers’ themes. So while I may be a word thief, I figure being eco-conscious makes up for it. I’m available to facilitate wordy goodness in your community, school, workplace or play space. I like to think I have way of transforming annual meetings into something interactive, cooperative & memorable. Through my klepto-collaborative poems I aim to delight, to ignite conversation, and maybe even incite innovation. I earned an MFA from Florida International University, where I edited Gulf Stream Literary Magazine. I’m the founder of WordPlay, a poetry-in-the-schools project inspired by Dave Eggers. My poetry has appeared in Bloomsbury Review, Cake, Luna, Best American Poetry blog (a collaborative poem with the phenomenal Denise Duhamel), Wicked Good Life, and various anthologies. My non-fiction has appeared in the Miami Herald and my fiction has been nominated for Best New American Voices. www.deniselanier.wordpress.com & www.wonkybent.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. Pingback: Letters & Donations S. W. A. K. « WordPlay

Leave a comment