Letters to Obama from the 3rd-Graders (Part 1)

Standard

Dear Mr. President Obama,

I think you could get yourself a blue cell phone because the color goes good with your suits. Here are some tips that might be useful. 1. You should get a puppy so you won’t be that lonely. 2. Make sure you do your job properly. 3. Can you make people stop cutting down trees? because they’re taking animals homes. 4. Always be honest with other people. 5. If you do get lonely, the puppy will cheer you up, I promise. 6. Please try to lower the price for doctors. 7. Never give up. That’s probably all you’ll need to know, so let me tell you about me. I’m glad you got chosen president. I would have voted for you if I was old enough (9, not old enough). Also, I think prices for small things that don’t do too much are a little too high. PS, good luck on being president. –Raysson

You should lower the prices of toys, skateboards, phones, shoes. You should make the world recycle like they do in Ireland. Please do me one last favor, please stop cutting trees. PS, you rock. –Julia

You should give children less homework, there should be 3 days in a weekend, and once a year kids should be allowed to boss their parents around. I would like you to come to our school, make peace between Palestine and Israel, and save the Cheetah! PS, let kids vote. PPS, can I live with you for a day? PPSS, please send me a letter, and I really mean it about that one day for kids bossing parents rule. –Yassen

You should give more money to the homeless people so they can buy food, new clothes, and houses or something. Please put more places for children to have fun. PS, don’t forget to recycle for Earth Day. –Valentina

Can you help me with my dream to help save animals and to stop pollution? I hope to one day become an animal doctor and I hope you don’t ever get upset, and remember to have peace. –Valentino

I recommend we have less dumpsters. I live in Florida and it gets really hot here, especially in the summer. I want to be a weatherman when I grow up. I want to move to a colder place like Atlanta, Georgia to work for the weather channel. My favorite TV is the weather channel and I Love Lucy. I am a very weird kid. PS, please write back. –Samuel

I have a lot of inventions and creative things. I would like to be a mechanic when I grow up but don’t want to kill the world with gas stations. So I was thinking to make a solar powered car. But I can’t afford the pieces. So if you could help with that it would be a big thanks for a lot of people. Less homeless people would be helpful. Maybe you could start with the price of food and go from there. –Paul

I love lots of animals, but lots of animals are endangered. Do you think you can do the following things in this list to help save the endangered species? Please, do this for the animals! 1. Put a law that says, No Poachers around the world. 2. Keep most animals in the zoo where they can be protected and cared for. 3. If an animal is in a zoo and healthy and can be set free to survive in the wild, do that. 4. Don’t kill much animals, only 2 or 3 a month. 5. Tell all people to love animals and care for them. –Olga

Stop with the FCAT and take us to the Bahamas, and make kids rich, and if you stop the FCAT it will be a pleasure to have you as president. I want more sports. Don’t be like McCain, you is better. We need a change and you can do that, like you said. (and you don’t need McCain’s help no matter what he says) PS, get a hamster. PPS, did I say hamster?? PPSS yes, like a big furry hot dog. Come to my school and I’ll show you. –Myquel

My school is bad, we have a very very very very terrible playground. Also, we live in Hollywood but we don’t recycle, what’s up with that? I will like to be president like you. Also when you buy a puppy watch out for Chihuahuas they are noisy, but small and easy to take care of, your choice. PS, I like your house. PPS, Have you ever think to paint your house blue instead of white? PPSS, can you make a ice cream day? –Marian

Some people are mad about the gas prices, can you check on that? I know you will try to keep the earth clean, thank you. And please help with people who disobey the law and bring the army soldiers home. There kids might miss them very much. You could lower taxes and make room for homeless people. We have room somewhere, for everybody, don’t we? –Keshawn

You might be the president but you can use some advice: First, you need to know that kids look up to you so try to go to some schools from all over the USA. But back to me: I want to tell you that when I grow up I want to be a famous athlete and if that dream will come true then my nick name will be The Lightning Bolt. Now another thing I want to be when I grow up is a author, a popular author. But since I’m going to also be a athlete I will use a fake name for my books like LS Judy or SL Annie, you get the point. PS, I hope one day me and you will be friends. –Loreto
sc03019b9d_2

About deniselanier

I am an educator & advocate, poet & performer, speaker & storyteller who believes in the power of narrative to transform & transport, create & connect. I was the shy, awkward girl who didn’t fit in, was often bullied, happiest with my nose in books, whose best friend was my dog. After being cast in a play in my teens I discovered a way to be comfortable in my own skin, bringing to life the words of a character. Costumed in make-believe I dared to be more of myself than I ever allowed off-stage; I claimed my voice. I spent most of my adult life teaching others to raise their own voices, through acting, creative writing, even slam poetry. When the diagnosis of MS intervened in my 30s I had to let go of acting, which is why most of my storytelling is now expressed through page and less “formal” interactions with stages. I devote much of my time to kids, teaching them to use words & imagination, developing authentic, resilient, remarkable voices. I endeavor to grow in my students the belief, the truth, that we are all artists & the change-makers in our own stories. My best friend still has fur & four legs. My mobility assistance dog is my constant companion, teaching assistant & muse to many. Luke is also chief partner in crime; I’m getting a reputation for stealing things. As inventor of a poetic form called klepto-collaborative, I pickpocket words & phrases from others, reshuffling & reshaping the puzzle-pieces into a colorful, storied mosaic of diverse voices. Taking something from every speaker at a conference in real-time, I craft a collective poem that highlights the messages of the day, repurposing ideas & refashioning stories, weaving them together in a manner that never loses the originality & spirit of the speakers’ themes. So while I may be a word thief, I figure being eco-conscious makes up for it. I’m available to facilitate wordy goodness in your community, school, workplace or play space. I like to think I have way of transforming annual meetings into something interactive, cooperative & memorable. Through my klepto-collaborative poems I aim to delight, to ignite conversation, and maybe even incite innovation. I earned an MFA from Florida International University, where I edited Gulf Stream Literary Magazine. I’m the founder of WordPlay, a poetry-in-the-schools project inspired by Dave Eggers. My poetry has appeared in Bloomsbury Review, Cake, Luna, Best American Poetry blog (a collaborative poem with the phenomenal Denise Duhamel), Wicked Good Life, and various anthologies. My non-fiction has appeared in the Miami Herald and my fiction has been nominated for Best New American Voices. www.deniselanier.wordpress.com & www.wonkybent.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. Pingback: Letters & Donations S. W. A. K. « WordPlay

Leave a Reply

