3rd-Graders write about the best day of their lives (real or imaginary)

Standard

the collaborative poem:

 

 

The Best Day of My Life

 

Would be when it starts raining toys.

Would be a sleepover with my friends and we’d eat waffles.

Will be when I get my first girlfriend.

Was a day when I climbed a mountain and found a cave full of dragon eggs!

Would be to control girls and make them eat boogers.

Will be if I pass the FCAT, because my parents say I can do whatever I want.

Was when my sister was born and I saw her in the hospital (her name is Alexa Lee).

Is going places with my dad because it makes me happy.

Would be the day my invention is for sale in stores.

Would be raining math problems, dictionaries, and Me’s.

Was when I got a new dog; her fur is the color of a log, so you can’t see her in fog.

Would be if I was in a fairy tale and they made me a princess!

Was going to Universal Studios and riding the cool rides over and over.

Was going swimming with the dolphins and feeding them fish.

Is when my best friend comes over to my house and we play outside all day.

Was going to an awesome water park with a huge twirly slide.

Would be taking my 5 dogs, 1 cat, 3 birds, and 10 fishes to go swimming with me.

Is every day because I love school, love home, and every day is the best day ever.

Will be when boys will never egsist; never in infinity.

Was in Atlanta with my mom, and we went to the Martin Luther King Jr. musem.

Was flipping over my handlebars, getting run over by a dirtbike, over my right arm.

Would be becoming an NHL superstar.

Would be getting a black camero with two yellow lines and it being so shiney it absorbs sunlight.

Would be ice cream and candy for all meals.

Would be when I open a book in a bookstore and the book is by ME.

Was the day we went to Disney and got to stay in a cool suite.

Would be playing basketball all day and then it rains pizza!

Would be if my family and I went to a secret place for all day.

Would be if I had a rockit to go to the moon.

Was the day I got my big black dog, he’s tall as my teacher when he stands on his back legs.

Would be going to see the president.

Was my birthday because there was my friends and cake and swimming!

When I’m going on a train to Georgia this summer.

Would be going around the world with my family.

Would be a place where the girls are banished.

Was going to my uncles house on Christmas.

Would be going to the mall and getting everything for free.

Would have all the games and chocolate and gold that I want.

Was when I got an iPod touch, because I love to hear songs, and Li’l Wayne is my favrite.

Was going ice skating at my cousin’s party.

Was when I ollied on my sidewalk because I like skateboarding.

Would be riding a dinosaur and having my own light saber.

Will be when I go to my uncles wedding in California.

Was when me and my sister went to buy our skunk.

When I meet Spider Man and have cool adventures, upside down.

Would be if I could be stuck in a hurricane and get blown through the world and then fall into my own house, and my mom would say Do you want fruit roll ups and a New York strip steak?

 

About deniselanier

I am an educator & advocate, poet & performer, speaker & storyteller who believes in the power of narrative to transform & transport, create & connect. I was the shy, awkward girl who didn’t fit in, was often bullied, happiest with my nose in books, whose best friend was my dog. After being cast in a play in my teens I discovered a way to be comfortable in my own skin, bringing to life the words of a character. Costumed in make-believe I dared to be more of myself than I ever allowed off-stage; I claimed my voice. I spent most of my adult life teaching others to raise their own voices, through acting, creative writing, even slam poetry. When the diagnosis of MS intervened in my 30s I had to let go of acting, which is why most of my storytelling is now expressed through page and less “formal” interactions with stages. I devote much of my time to kids, teaching them to use words & imagination, developing authentic, resilient, remarkable voices. I endeavor to grow in my students the belief, the truth, that we are all artists & the change-makers in our own stories. My best friend still has fur & four legs. My mobility assistance dog is my constant companion, teaching assistant & muse to many. Luke is also chief partner in crime; I’m getting a reputation for stealing things. As inventor of a poetic form called klepto-collaborative, I pickpocket words & phrases from others, reshuffling & reshaping the puzzle-pieces into a colorful, storied mosaic of diverse voices. Taking something from every speaker at a conference in real-time, I craft a collective poem that highlights the messages of the day, repurposing ideas & refashioning stories, weaving them together in a manner that never loses the originality & spirit of the speakers’ themes. So while I may be a word thief, I figure being eco-conscious makes up for it. I’m available to facilitate wordy goodness in your community, school, workplace or play space. I like to think I have way of transforming annual meetings into something interactive, cooperative & memorable. Through my klepto-collaborative poems I aim to delight, to ignite conversation, and maybe even incite innovation. I earned an MFA from Florida International University, where I edited Gulf Stream Literary Magazine. I’m the founder of WordPlay, a poetry-in-the-schools project inspired by Dave Eggers. My poetry has appeared in Bloomsbury Review, Cake, Luna, Best American Poetry blog (a collaborative poem with the phenomenal Denise Duhamel), Wicked Good Life, and various anthologies. My non-fiction has appeared in the Miami Herald and my fiction has been nominated for Best New American Voices. www.deniselanier.wordpress.com & www.wonkybent.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

